One door closes, another opens

In this case, it’s a car door that is closing (well it’s not closing, you’ll see what I mean below!).
The time has come for me to part with my mini. This car has become part of my soul over the past 5 years or so that I have owned it, it was my only car during my time at university and we have many good memories, but it simply requires too much work to make it a viable project for me, as much as it pains me to say it. There is simply too much time and money required for me to get it roadworthy again.


The mini was always scabby looking, it was rusty when I bought it and it didn’t get much better during it’s time with me, owing to its use through the British winters where salt is applied liberally to our roads (plus the fact that minis came pre-rusted from the factories!).

I attempted to sell it as a nearly-whole car, but owing to it’s non-roadworthy status nobody was interested. So I decided it would go out in one last hurrah and I would split it down and sell the parts separately, knowing that the car would go on to potentially save the lives of other cars made me feel a little better, it’s like some sort of mechanical organ donor.


The shell was chopped up in a fury of angle grinders and jig-saws, and I do have to admit that it was strangely fun to chop it up. It also gave me a new found confidence, having seen parts of the car I had never seen before and removed parts I had never removed, it made me unafraid to tackle problems that may have seemed too daunting before.

Moving forward I found a car to replace the mini, another oldie and this one is actually older than the mini!

It’s a …. (Drum roll please) … Honda Civic… (Boo! I hear you say).

It may be a Civic, but it is an unusual one, it’s a 4th Generation saloon/sedan, quite an unusual car over here in the UK. According to a certain website there are only around 300 of this model still registered on the road.

The car is quite tidy for its age, and was previously owned by an elderly lady who only covered 1500-ish miles a year in it for the past 10 years. I also have a soft spot for boxy old saloon cars.

What’s in store for the future? I’m not sure, but it won’t be staying standard for too long!

 

Leave a Reply, you fine Fellow!

