Vintage Bicycle Project

Hey Everyone,

Seeing as though the weather decided it would finally be time to stop raining, for the first time in what feels like years, I went out and fished out (one of) my bicycle(s). Its an old Rayleigh bike that was bought and modified for the princely sum of 45 sterling.

Here is a before and after photo:

Before.jpgAfter.jpg

I managed to get a really good price on the bike itself, and a friend was selling the wheels cheap (they are super heavy, but they look good!), so that meant I could keep the price of the bike down.

It was converted to single speed, and I’m still unsure as to whether this was a good idea or not. I did move house since building it and there are a lot less hills where I live now so maybe it will be bearable!

It’s quite an interesting old bike and does seem to get a fair bit of attention wherever I go on it, and people always assume I would have paid a lot for it (they obviously don’t know me!), so I’m going to take that as a compliment as to the looks of the bike, but I won’t let them into the secret that this bike weight a darn sight more than my mountain bike!

Does anyone else like cycling? Got an interesting bike? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Vintage Bicycle Project

  1. I’ve got an old English three-speed bicycle and another bike I’m doing up in a similar style to this. The three-speed’s heavier still than yours (mudguards, geared hub, etc) but rides beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice, one of the old Sturmey-Archer type geared hubs? I once had a bike that had one and it was lovely, a lot more useful than a single speed and very nice looking, but I know about the extra weight! They aren’t exactly lightweight!

      Like

Leave a Reply, you fine Fellow!

