I’ve been Reading: The Hobbit

Once again I have read one of my old favourites, The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.

I’m assuming at this day in age I don’t need to introduce this book, but I will briefly anyway. This fantasy book was first released in 1937 to wide critical acclaim, the story follows the quest of Bilbo Baggins and a band of dwarves to claim back long-lost dragon-guarded  treasure.

This book is still extremely popular today and was the reason behind the Lord of the Rings books and the three huge blockbuster movies, as well as a movie trilogy of The Hobbit itself being released over the past few years.

The book is ideal for all ages and I believe I first read this book when I was around 10 years old, and years later I still possess the same copy of the book I had back then.

Reading again after watching the movies reminds me what it was that I first fell in love with in this book, the whimsical story telling of Tolkien, often using made-up words and yet very matter-of-fact at the same time. Although the movies and the book tell the same story (well, to an extent), the way in which they tell them differs greatly and therefore I recommend that anyone with an interest should read this book whether having seen the movies or not.

Leave a Reply, you fine Fellow!

